13 Railway Stations in Haryana to have International Standards

Stations RedevelopmentChandigarh: Thirteen railway stations of Haryana would be redeveloped to International standards through Swiss Challenge methods by inviting bids from interested parties.

A spokesman of Haryana Government said that CM Manohar Lal Khattar has approved the proposal to appoint Director, Urban Local Bodies as Coordinating Officer and constitute  a Standing Group to expedite these projects.

The group members include besides Additional Chief Secretary, Town and Country Planning as Chairman, Chief Administrator, Haryana Urban Development Authority, Director, Urban Local Bodies, Concerned District Revenue and District Town Planner. The standing group will facilitate single window clearance from the Railway’s side to expedite these projects.

The spokesman said said that the Railway stations to be redeveloped included Ambala Cantt., Ballabgarh, Faridabad, Gurgaon, Jagadhri, Kalka, Karnal, Panipat, Rohtak, Sonipat, Bhiwani, Hisar and Rewari.

In all, about 400 Railway stations are to be redeveloped all over the country and the project is being closely monitored by the Prime Minister’s Office. The development of stations would enhance the overall aesthetics of the city.

The spokesman said that a redeveloped station is envisaged as an iconic structure with its architecture reflecting the culture and character of the city, providing state-of-the-art facilities for travelling public. PM Narendra Modi has also emphasised the priority of station redevelopment at various fora, he added.


Comments are closed.