All four central Delhi Metro stations reopened

New Delhi:  All the four metro stations in north block which were closed upon the directions of Delhi Police in view of a dharna by Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal have been now reopened.

“All four metro stations reopened at 8.08 pm,” a DMRC official said. The four stations – Central Secretariat, Patel Chowk, Udyog Bhawan and Race Course were completely shut since 6 am on Tuesday in keeping with police’s instructions. The secretary to the Delhi Transport Minister, Saurabh Bhardwaj, had written to DMRC Managing Director Mangu Singh this afternoon seeking reopening of the said stations.

“Law and order is the subject of the police and DMRC had forwarded the letter to Delhi Police after it arrived from the (transport) minister’s office,” the DMRC official said. Kejriwal’s dharna came to an end tonight after two police officers were sent on leave in a compromise with the Centre.

Kejriwal had demanded suspension of five law and order officials for alleged dereliction of duty. Earlier, in a statement, Delhi government said that it, “Strongly disapproves of the decision to shut down four Metro stations in central Delhi, which has caused inconvenience to a lot of commuters. Delhi government holds 50 per cent stake in Delhi Metro and questions the decision to shut down (the stations) without consulting it. “The decision is illogical and appears to have been taken on purely political considerations.”