Bansal set for fresh guard as board gets new faces

Railways minister Pawan Kumar Bansal is preparing to take fresh guard with a majority of the Railway Board members hanging their boots by June.

With the solitary exception of member (electrical) Kulbhushan, all members of the present board, including chairman Railway Board (CRB) Vinay Mittal and finance commissioner Vijaya Kanth will retire by June.

Three members Member (Staff) AK Vohra, Member Mechanical (Keshav Chandra) and Member (Traffic) KK Srivastava are retiring on April 30.

“It is an advantageous situation for the railway minister, as a fresh board will have the opportunity to fulfil the UPA-II agenda with greater gusto,” an official said.

In finding replacements to the posts falling vacant, Bansal has meticulously followed the rule book by adhering to the “senior-most” principle.