BJD to hold dharna at all Rly Stations in Odisha over Deo’s idea to shift ECoR Hq to Vizag

43932Bhubaneshwar:  Ruling BJD to start 1-hr dharna at railway stations across Odisha from Sept 12 to 14 protesting against Union minister V Kishore Deo’s demand for shifting of ECoR office to Vizag. This was informed by the BJD Youth Wing President Sanjay Dasverma at Bhubaneswar today.

“We condemn the proposal of the Union minister. We would stage one-hour peaceful protest at all the railway stations for three days starting tomorrow,” said BJD’s youth wing head Sanjay Dasburma.  He urged the Pradesh Congress Committee chief Jayadev Jena and opposition leader Bhupinder Singh to draw attention of the Prime Minister on the issue and said the Prime minister should ask Deo to seek apology from people of Odisha. Union minister of state for Chemical and Fertilizers abd Balasore MP Srikant Jena should also resign from central ministry protesting the proposal of his colleague, he added.

It may be noted that Deo has sent a letter to the Antony Committee, constituted by the Central government to assess the situation resulted from the announcement to form separate Telangana state, arguing, “Vishakhapatnam is situated at the centre of the east coast between Kolkata and Chennai, the East Coast Railways Headquarters which should have been located at Vishakhapatnam is unfortunately established at Bhubaneswar.”

The Union minister had also stated, “The South Eastern Zonal Railway Headquarters (currently in Kolkata) may be shifted to Bhubaneswar with the Khurda division attached to it and the East Coast Zonal Headquarters must be shifted to Vishakhapatnam with the addition of Vijayawada Division in the lieu of Khurda Division.”

Deo suggested that the South Eastern Zonal Railway Headquarters should be shifted from Kolkata to Bhubaneswar as “by no stretch of imagination can Kolkata be said to be any part of the South Eastern region.”