Budget proposes for Rs 4,000 crore ECR projects in 5 divisions

HAJIPUR: The East Central Railway (ECR) has got about Rs 4014.41 crore in the current annual general budget presented in the Lok Sabha on February 1. A sum of Rs 2652.12 crore of this allocation is meant for new projects in the ECR’s five divisions.

ECR AGM Anup Kumar told newsmen on Thursday the ECR has got Rs 69.51 crore for developing passenger amenities at different stations, while a sum of Rs 41.51 crore would be spent on streamlining traffic operations. Besides, a sum of Rs 141 crore has been allocated for building road overbridges, he said.

According to Kumar, the budget has allocated Rs 56.67 crore to further improve safety measures at manned and unmanned railway crossing gates. A sum of Rs 75.8 crore will be spent on bridge safety work, he said and added Rs 636.90 crore would be spent on completion of new line projects.

Another Rs 1595.22 crore will be spent on track-doubling work, while Rs 420 crore would be spent on the gauge conversion work. Track-doubling work will be undertaken on Parasnath- Giridih (35km) and Darbhanga-Sisho Halt (7.64km) routes.

Railway electrification work will be taken up on the Muzaffarpur–Sitamarhi (64.52km), Dildarnagar-Taraighat (18.67km) and Daurab Madhepura–Purnia (77.3km) routes, said the AGM.

The budget also proposes survey for laying new lines on the Maharajaganj-Ratan Sarai (32km) and Darbhanga–Muzaffarpur (50km) routes. The railways will take up flyover construction work at Sasaram, Phulwari, Pradhankhuta, Akhaura, Chiraila, Pautha, Mughalsarai, Pataliputra Junction, Danapur and seven other places falling under the ECR’s jurisdiction, Kumar said and added the railways would also build bypass lines at Bachwara, Samastipur and Garwha Road in the current fiscal.

The railways will lay new lines on Koderma–Ranchi (Rs 150 crore), Hajipur–Singrauli (Rs 100 crore), Kosi Pul (Rs 75 crore), Koderma-Tilaiya (Rs 75 crore), Neora-Daniyawan-Biharsharif- Barbhigha-Seikhpura (Rs 50 crore), Giridh-Koderma (Rs 40 crore), Sakri-Hasanpur (Rs 25 crore), Rajgir-Tilaiya-Nateshwar-Islampur (Rs 20 crore), Khagaria-Kusheshwar Asthan (Rs 15 crore) and Vikramshila-Katria (Rs 10 crore) routes, the AGM said.