Central Railway win battle of Railways in VCA Corporate Trophy

Nagpur (NGP): Central Railway derailed South East Central Railway by 63 runs in a battle between two Railway teams in the Corporate Cup (GK Kelkar Twenty20) Cricket tournament at the VCA Civil Lines ground on Thursday.

A belligerent knock of 66 from Amit Paunikar set up the win for Central Railway. Paunikar was well supported by Praveen Shetty (35), Sanjog Binkar (26) and Salil Agarkar (25 not out) as Central Railway posted a strong total of 166 for 7 on the board.

Chasing a stiff target, South East Central Railway were rolled over for mere 103 in 18.3 overs.

Axis Bank recorded their first win of the tournament defeating JSW Steel by 5 wickets in a close contest.

In other matches, Accountant General Recreation Club (AGRC) Maharashtra recorded a convincing 10-wicket victory over MOIL at the VCA Jamtha ground in the morning, while in the last encounter of the day at Jamtha, Nirmal Urban Co-Op Bank sailed to a comfortable 61-run win over Union Bank.

Brief Scores

Central Railway 166-7 in 20 overs (Amit Paunikar 66, Praveen Shetty 35, Sanjog Binkar 26, Salil Agarkar 25 not out; A Pawan Kumar 5-28, Rahul Sharma 2-48) bt South East Central Railway 103-9 in 18.3 overs (P Vivek 34, A Pawan Kumar 18, Mohd Irfan 16, Yogesh Chandurkar 12 no, Rahul Sharma 11; Salil Agarkar 3-25, Shailesh Harbade 2-8, Jadhav 2-15, Manish Rao 1-6, Vikas Yadav 1-22, Rahul Jadhav 2-15) by 63 runs.

JSW Steel 130-4 in 20 overs (Chetan Rangari 77 no, Shirshir Survey 22; Abhishek Chaudhary 2-25) lost to Axis Bank 131-5 in 16.5 overs (Varun Shrikhande 40, Abhishek Chaudhary 30, Amit Umang 22 no; Narendra Gokhe 2-23) by 5 wickets.

MOIL 55 in 16.5 overs (Dhanpal Dhuriyam 14, Rajkumar Goure 14; Samir Khare 5-14, Atul Waghmare 2-17, Aditya Sarwate 2-12) lost to AGRC 57-0 in 3.2 overs (Akshay Kolhar 20 no, Dharmendra Ahalawat 35 no) by 10 wickets.

Nirmal Urban Co-op Bank 137-9 in 20 overs (Anirudha Chore 44, Kunjan Patel 27; R Sanjay 3-24, Siddesh Neral 2-40) bt Union Bank 76 in 19 overs (Ankit Tiwari 20, Raj Chaudhary 20; Mangesh Joshi 3-9, Nihal Poreddiwar 2-8, Suniket Bhingewar 2-9) by 61 runs.