Delhi Metro: Phase-III gets longer ramps and foot-overbridges

NEW DELHI: The third phase of Delhi Metro will have some of the longest foot overbridges. “Delhi Metro will construct these overbridgesand ramps at six of the seven interchange stations on line 7 of phase III,” a DMRC spokesperson said. Line 7 is the Mukundpur to ShivVihar corridor which is 55.6km long.

The FOB will provide easy movement to commuters within the paid area of the Metro station. The foot overbridges will be some of the longest in the network, say DMRC officials, ranging from 70m to 200m long. Interestingly, many of the stations on this line which are getting interconnected through the overbridge and ramps are elevated and underground stations.

The interchange stations are Azadpur, Netaji Subhas Place, Rajouri Garden, Mayur Vihar I, Karkarduma, Anand Vihar and Welcome. “At Anand Vihar, the new station will be adjacent to the operational one and connectivity is not required. Lifts and escalators will be provided and connectivity will be from concourse to concourse,” added the spokesperson. The reason for constructing the overbridges and ramps is constraints like inadequate land availability near existing stations and alignment which made it very difficult to connect new stations with the operational ones.

At Azadpur Metro station, the connectivity will be with line 2 (Jahangirpuri-HUDA city centre). The overbridge is 197m long as it connects the existing Azadpur station, which is elevated, with the new station that will be underground. At Netaji Subhash Place, the connectivity is with line 1 (Dilshad Garden-Rithala) through a 200-m FOB. Again, the connection will be between elevated and semi-underground stations. However, at Rajouri Garden, the interchange will be with line 3 (Dwarka Sector 21-Noida city centre) through a 175m long FOB. Both stations are elevated.

Similarly, both the stations are elevated at Mayur Vihar I, Welcome and Karkarduma Metro stations, which will have foot overbridges ranging from 70m to 101m. Here, the connectivity will be with line 3, line 1 and line 4 (Dwarka Sector 21-Vaishali).