ECR earned Rs.11500 Crore during 2013-14, GM says

Patna पटना (PNBE): East Central Railway (ECR) celebrated the 59th Railway Week at a function at Sri Krishna Memorial hall where 348 railway officials and employees from its five divisions were awarded for their outstanding services on Friday.

Speaking on the occasion, ECR GM Madhuresh Kumar lauded the railway officials and employees for their contribution to the development of railways in the zone since its inception in 2002. “It is due to their hard work that ECR could earn about Rs 11,500 crore during 2013-2014, a record in the zone,” he said, adding ECR joined the club of Rs 10,000 crore-earning zones of Indian Railways in 2012-13 itself.

Kumar said ECR made a record earning in the passenger segment while it loaded about 106 million tonne freight during 2013-2014 fiscal year. “The railways has improved punctuality, particularly of mail and express trains, this year. Besides, railways has installed escalators and built foot overbridges at different stations of ECR to further improve passenger amenities under the zone,” he said.

According to the GM, the railways carried out massive passenger amenities work under all the five divisions of the ECR. As many as 18 new trains were introduced under the zone during 2013-2014 while 19 passenger trains were given extended run. About 436 extra coaches were attached to long-distance passenger trains and 46 special trains run from different divisions of ECR to clear rush of passengers, he said.

He said the railways has been carrying out various projects in the ECR. While work on the ambitious rail- cum- road bridge over the Ganga at Digha-Sonepur site has been going on in full swing, 123km new lines were laid by railways in ECR during 2013-2014. Similarly, about 46km gauge conversion work was carried out under the zone. The railways also completed 80km new line work between Koderma and Hazaribagh in Jharkhand despite odds, he said.

The GM distributed shields, awards and certificates to railway officials and employees for their outstanding work. While Dhanbad division was declared overall champion, Mughalsarai division lifted the runner-up shield. Dhanbad division was also given cleanliness trophy in the major station category while Sonepur division was given cleanliness trophy in the middle station category.

The signal and telecom shield was also bagged by Dhanbad division for better maintenance while operating category award was jointly bagged by Dhanbad and Mughalsarai divisions. In the health and better medical upkeep category, Patna railway super specialty hospital bagged the trophy. The power conservation trophy was given to Sonepur division while ticket checking shield was bagged by Samastipur division.