Green signal to Raipur, Bilaspur railway stations for redevelopment

Raipur (R): Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday has approved 400 railway stations under A and A-1 category for redevelopment on ‘as is where is’ basis, which comprises nine stations under South East Central Railway, including Raipur and Bilaspur.

While Raipur and Bilaspur fall under A-1 category, Raigarh, Champa, Bhilai Power House, Durg, Rajnandgaon, Gondia and Bhandara Road fall under A category railway stations.

A-1 category railway stations have earning of more than Rs 60 crore through passengers and A category has passenger earning of Rs 8-60 crore.

Talking to media, RK Agrawal, DGM/South Eeast Central Railway said, “It’s a huge step forward towards modernization and change in passenger facilities can be expected. Passengers can look forward towards better facilities at railway stations now.”