Home Ministry approves renaming of Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus and Elphinstone Road Railway station names

MUMBAI: The Union Home Ministry has approved the renaming of two railway stations of Mumbai, Maharashtra Transport Minister Diwakar Raote said on Saturday.

“The Centre has approved renaming of Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus to Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Terminus.

Also, Elphinstone Road railway station has now been renamed to Prabhadevi,” Raote said in a statement.

Raote said that the state government has published the changed names in English and Devnagri scripts in the gazette and had sought the Centre’s approval for renaming of the stations.

“Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis had proposed to rename Elphinstone Road station to Prabhadevi last year. The proposal was was passed by an all party MLA resolution in the state assembly and now we had followed this issue with the Centre and have finally succeeded in getting our demand met,” added the Minister.

Various political parties have demanded that the names of three Mumbai suburban railway stations be also changed. They are Dadar railway station to Chaityabhumi, Grant Road railway station to August Kranti and Charni Road railway station to Gaondevi.

Speaking about the change in name of Elphinstone Road railway station, Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis last year said, “The residents of Worli and Prabhadevi and our partner Shiv Sena had been demanding for a long time to change the name from Elphinstone Road to Prabhadevi. This change was also approved by the state assembly and we will send the proposal to the central government.”

But this is not the only change in name, the state government has introduced in recent times. The new suburban station between Jogeshwari and Goregaon was to be proposed as Oshiwara in November. But suddenly before the proposal, its name was changed to Ram Mandir. Fadnavis had given a go-ahead to the name change proposal.