ICF Team wins the 31st All India Railway Chess Championship – 2018

CHENNAI: The Closing Ceremony of the 31st Al India Railway Chess Championship-2018 was held at Multi Disciplinary Zonal Training Institute, Tirchchirappalli today. Shri P.K.MISHRA, Additional General Manager, Southern Railway was the Chief Guest during the occasion and distributed Prizes. Shri.P. Uday Kumar Reddy, President, Southern Railway Sports Association/Tiruchchirappalli & Divisional Railway Manager/Tiruchchirappalli and Shri.Y.Nagendra Babu, Hony Secretary, Southern Railway Sports Association & Chief Commercial Manager, Passenger Services were also present during the event.

Integral Coach Factory popularly known as ICF emerged as the Winners in the Team Champion with 10 Match Points. Shri Deepan Chakkravarthy J., Grand Master of Integral Coach Factory was the winner in the Individual Championship with 6.5 Points.

Southern Railway Sports Association organized the 31st All India Railway Chess Championship from 3rd October to 9th October, 2018. The event was conducted in Swiss League Format as both Team and Individual level. Around 87 Players consisting of Five Grand Masters(GMs) and 18 International Masters(IMs) from 12 Zonal Railways and 2 Production Units from all over Indian Railways participated in the event. Team championship was held from 3rd to 5th October 2018 with Six rounds and Individual Championship was held form 6th to 9th October 2018 with Eight rounds. In the Team event around 14 Teams consisting of 67 players and in Individual Level 82 Players participated.

Top 10 players from the Individual Championship will represent Indian Railways in the National Chess Championship going to be held in the month of December 2018.