Indian Railways to field 11-member Team in 50th Senior National Wrestling Championship

CHANDIGARH: Railway Sports Promotion Board has announced an 11-member team to compete in the 50th Senior National Wrestling Championship and Hind Kesari being organised in Pune from April 27 to 30. Arjuna Awardee Kripa Shanker Bishnoi (Southerm Railway) and Sandeep Dahiya (North Central Railway) have been appointed coaches. International Parvej Man (Norhtern Railway) has been nominated as manager.

Commonwealth champion Joginder Singh of Northern Railway will represent Railways in the 130 kg class for Hind Kesari title which carries a cash prize of Rs 2.5 lakh and a mace. The silver medalist will get Rs 1.5 lakh and bronze medalist will receive Rs 75,000 each.

The Wrestling Federation of India will award Rs 40,000, Rs 20,000 and Rs 10,000 to the winners of gold, silver and bronze medals, respectively.

Railways team: 100 kg Naresh Kumar (Northern Railway); 84 kg Sandeep Kumar (South Central Railway); 75 kg Vikas Kumar (NF Railway); 67 kg Pardeep Kumar (Northern Railway); 61 kg Rakesh Kumar (Central Railway); 55 kg Upender Sain (SC Railway); 51 kg Rahul (Railway Academy NAIR) and 130 kg Joginder Singh (Norther Railway).