Indian Railways working on increasing Speed of all Long Distance Trains: MOSR

KOLKATA: The Indian Railways is working on increasing the speed of all long distance passenger trains by 25 km per hour by 2022 which will reduce travel time considerably, Minister of State for Railways Rajen Gohain said here today.

The railways ministry has also asked the national carrier to double the average speed of freight trains by 2022, Gohain told newspersons here after inaugurating a Santragachi-Chennai Central weekly Antyodaya Express train service.

“We have asked all the zonal railway general managers to work on increasing the speed of long distance passenger trains by five kms per hour every year, thus reaching the target of 25 km per hour increase in speed by 2022,” Gohain said.

He said the ministry wanted to reduce travel time considerably to ensure passengers reached their destinations within a reasonable time.

In order to decongest major terminal stations like Howrah, work is on to develop infrastructure at satellite stations nearby so that these can be used for originating and terminating journey of long distance express trains, he said.

South Eastern Railway General Manager S N Agarwal said that congestion at major terminal stations are one of the causes for delay in train movement. Santragachi and Shalimar stations near Howrah are being developed for the purpose to provide proper facilities to passengers of long distance trains.


Sri Rajen Gohain, Hon’ble Minister of State of Railways flagged off Santragachi-Chennai Central Weekly Antyodaya Express at an impressive function held at Howrah Station, New Complex this afternoon (4th June, 2018).

Sri Prasun Banerjee, Hon’ble Member of Parliament graced the occasion as Guest of Honour. Sri S N Agrawal, General Manager, South Eastern Railway, Sri H Rao, General Manager, Eastern Railway, Sri A Vijayvargiya, General Manager, Metro Railway, Sri A Datta, Additional General Manager, South Eastern Railway, Sri S K Das, Additional General Manager, Eastern Railway and other distinguished guests attended the programme.

Hon’ble MOSR Sri Rajen Gohain while flagging off the train said that this fully unreserved superfast train service would not only fulfill the demand of the common people of West Bengal but also the common people of Odisha, Andhra Pradesh and Tamil Nadu. Sri Gohain also stated that this train is equipped with modern facilities and mentioned about the special amenities provided in the train viz. LED lights, mobile charging points, Bio-toilets, Cushioned Luggage Racks, potable water dispenser  etc.  Sri Gohain also mentioned about the LHB coaches provided in the train to ensure the safety of the passengers.

Sri Gohain also mentioned about the recent achievements of Indian Railways in construction of new lines, doubling works, road over bridges, elimination of un-manned level crossings etc. All un-manned level crossings across Indian Railway would be eliminated in a phased manned, he added. He also mentioned about the progress of work of Dedicated Freight Corridor and  steps taken to increase the average speed of trains throughout the country. In this context, Hon’ble MOSR mentioned about the meeting of all Zonal Railway’s General Managers and Principal Chief Operations Managers who would look after the acceleration of normal mail/express trains. Sri Gohain also added that all stations of Indian Railways have been visibly cleaned which were not in earlier time.

22841 Santragachi-Chennai Central Weekly Antyodaya Express will leave Santragachi every Monday at 19:00 hours and will reach Chennai Central at 22:45 hours, the next day. On the return trip, 22842 Chennai Central – Santragachi Weekly Antyodaya Express will leave Chennai Central at 08:10 hours every Wednesday arriving Santragachi, the next day at 10:25 hours. This train will cover a distance of 1655 kilometers within 27 hours each way.

Earlier, Sri A Datta, Addl. General Manager, South Eastern Railway welcomed the Hon’ble MOSR, Hon’ble MP and other distinguished guests. Sri K R K Reddy, Divisional Railway Manager, Kharagpur conveyed vote of thanks.