IRAS Officer bags ‘Distinguished Alumnus Award – 2014’ from National Academy of Indian Railways

A Venkateshwar IRAS receiving the National Academy of Indian Railways - Distinguished Alumnus Award from Railway Minister
A Venkateshwar IRAS receiving the National Academy of Indian Railways ‘Distinguished Alumnus Award’ from Rail Minister

सिकंदराबाद Secunderabad (SC): A Venkateshwar, an Indian Railway Accounts Service (IRAS) officer of 1979 batch, has bagged the coveted ‘Distinguished Alumnus Award’ of the National Academy of Indian Railways, Ministry of Railways, Vadodara for the year 2014.

The award, conferred by the Railway Board, is given to one meritorious officer selected annually across all the ten Group A Services, was presented by the Union Railways Minister Suresh Prabhu on the Foundation Day of the Academy.

After a short stint at BHEL, Hyderabad, Venkateshwar joined IRAS and served on South Central Railways, Chittarajan Loco Workshop and set up the Centralised Training Academy for Railway Accounts at Secunderabad.

His tenure as Director (Finance & Personnel) of Singareni Collieries and later as Director (Finance & Revenue) of AP Transco were recognised for the financial turnaround brought about in the coal and power sectors.

After taking voluntary retirement from the Government in 2007, Venkateshwar worked as Executive Vice-President in Tata Projects, before starting his own consultancy last year in Hyderabad.

Some of the past recipients of this prestigious award include former CMDs of PSUs like E Sreedharan (DMRC), P S Bami (NTPC), K P Singh (RITES, Tata Projects), R.Dayal (CONCOR) , B Rajaram (Konkan Rly), D V Kapoor (DVC), K L Puri (BHEL), ex Chairman /Member, Rly Bd – Prakash Narayan, M Ravindra, C M Khosla, Ghosh Dastidar, Y P Anand and D P Joshi. IRAS officers who have been recognized since 1970 when the Award was instituted are C L Sharma (in 1975), P S Bami (in 1988) H Krishnamurthy (in 1990), Akhileshwar Prasad ( in 2002) MAK Swain (in 2010). We are happy to inform this forum that early this year, the Railway Board decided to recognize A.Venkateshwar of the IRAS for the Award.

The Award was presented on 31st Jan 2015 , on the occasion of the 64th Foundation Day at NAIR, Vadodara, by the Hon’ble Union Minister for Railways , Mr Suresh Prabhu in the presence of the local MP , Members (Staff , Mech) GM (CR,WR) and the DG /NAIR , Sanjoy Mookerjee , also of the IRAS. Attached are some photographs taken on the occasion , the citation (in Hindi) and the Roll of Honours (till last year) decorating the entrance to the Academy.

Mr Venkateshwar, who did his BE (Elec), served in BHEL for 2 years before joining IRAS (’79). He worked in SC Rly , CLW and CTARA (which he founded) during 1981 -2006. He was also deputed (1998 – 2005) as full time Dir (Fin) first on the Board of Singareni Collieries and later , of APTransco. After taking voluntary retirement from the Govt., he joined Tata Projects in 2007 as Exec Vice President . In 2014, he started his own consultancy and advises corporates on governance, business excellence and ethics apart from financial management issues. He can be reached on / 9948291319.