IR’s 15-day Railyatri Upbhokta Pakhwada 2015: DRM/Sealdah holds interactive session with passengers

Sealdah (SDAH):  Eastern Railway’s Sealdah Division organized a direct interaction between the DRM, Sealdah and representatives of Passengers Associations, Passengers, Members of Chambers of Commerce & other rail users at Dr. B.C. Roy Auditorium, Sealdah today on the occasion of Passenger and Customer Facilitation Fortnight – “Railyatri/Upbhokta Pakhwada”.

A customer facilitation booth was also opened at Sealdah station to enlist the name of commuters who are willing to uphold their suggestions, demands etc.

Jaya Verma Sinha, Divisional Railway Manager, Sealdah along with other Divisional Officers of Eastern Railway’s Sealdah division carefully listened to the suggestions and demands of the rail users and other stake holders participated in this interactive programme.

While addressing the occasion, the DRM mentioned about some important achievements of Sealdah division during last financial year towards providing more comfort to the passengers viz.  introduction of 77 more 12 coach EMU locals, running of 76 extra suburban trains to cater the rush of passengers during different festivals, attachment of 727 extra coaches to different trains, raising of platform height  at 15 stations, completion of a part of new station building at Majerhat etc. The DRM also mentioned about the recent shifting of Jan Aahar Canteen from first floor to the ground floor of Sealdah stations which is highly patronized by the passengers and the sales figure shot up by three times with this newly constructed Jan Aahar Canteen.

The DRM also mentioned about some more amenities/infrastructural development coming up during the “Railyatri/Upbhokta Pakhwada”.  Commencement of a FOB at Krishnanagar, commencement of platform extension work at Baranagar, Dakshineswar, Patipukur, Tala etc to accommodate 12 coach EMU locals are few of those.

Similar interaction with the rail users will also be held at Station Manager’s Room of Barasat and Krishnanagar stations in Sealdah division on June 2 and 4.