Kharge assures rail concession to all accredited Journalists

Rail travel concession to journalists in rural areas

11VZVISKPAGE5_UJF_1681521fNew Delhi:  Railway Minister Mallikarjun Kharge has assured a delegation of journalists from Visakhapatnam that the Rail Travel Concession, being given to accredited journalists in State capitals and district headquarters, would also be extended to accredited journalists in rural areas.

The delegation on the banner of Uttarandhra Journalists’ Front (UJF) met the Railway Minister in New Delhi on Tuesday and submitted a memorandum to him seeking extension of the facility to rural journalists.

The meet was coordinated by Union Minister of State for Commerce and Industry D. Purandeswari, who represents Visakhapatnam in the Lok Sabha.

The delegation also sought creation of a new railway zone with headquarters in Visakhapatnam and he responded favourably to the concerns raised by them.

They noted that several important origination express trains like Visakha Express and Prasanthi Express were extended to Bhubaneswar and Puri long ago while the demand for extension of trains originating in Bhubaneswar and Puri to Visakhapatnam were ignored.

The delegation expressed apprehension that in view of the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh, political leaders in Vijayawada were making all out efforts to demand a new railway zone with headquarters in Vijayawada.

UJF president M.R.N. Varma, vice-president Kurra Vijay Kumar and UJF Delhi coordinator N. Satyanarayana were in the delegation which met the Railway Minister.