Konkan Railway route to get 10 more Stations by March 2020

MUMBAI: Konkan Railway Corporation (KRCL), which celebrated its 29th Foundation Day on October 15, said in a statement that work on the construction of 10 new stations ― Indapur, Goregoan Road, Sape Wamane, Kalbani, Kadwai, Verawali, Kharepatan, Achirne, Mirjan and Innanje ― and eight loop lines is in progress and is likely to be completed by March 2020.

Apart from this, five additional loop lines at Anjani, Sawarda, Rajapur Road, Vaibhavwadi Road and Murdeshwar stations have already been commissioned.

It said that the electrification of the entire Konkan Railway route will be completed by March 2021. This project is estimated to cost around 1,100 crore.

Work on the doubling of the 46-km stretch between Roha and Veer section is in progress and will be completed by March 2020.

During 2018-19, Konkan Railway achieved a net profit of 102 crore. The turnover of the company was 2,898 crore during 2018-19. This included the project turnover of 1,561 crore, and operating turnover of 1,264 crore.

It said that Konkan Railway has bagged the contract for conducting engineering survey of the proposed railway line between Raxaul in Bihar and Kathmandu in Nepal. The survey has been completed and submitted to Nepal through the Union External Affairs Ministry.

KRCL said that work is in progress for the 53.6-km stretch of Udampur Srinagar Baramulla Rail Link (USBRL) project. Excavation work for the 10.26-km tunnel has been completed.  Work on the bridges over Anji and Chenab rivers is in progress.

Apart from this, KRCL has constructed an 11-km new railway line at NTPC Gadarwara project. This railway line includes a 366-metre-long bridge on Shakkar river, it said.