National Seniors Power Lifting Championship – Railway Sportspersons overall Winners

Railway Sports Promotion Board (RSPB) has lifted the overall championships in both Men’s and Women’s Equipped Category at the National Seniors Power Lifting Championship which concluded here on Monday.

Hosts Karnataka had their share of cheers as they dominated the unequipped category as the Overall Champions. The contingent from Kerala reigned supreme in the inter-state category of the 39th Senior Men’s and 31st Women’s Championships hosted by Karnataka Power Lifting Association under the aegis of Indian Power Lifting Federation, Jamshedpur.

Over 500 lifters from 24 states and four public sector units contended for the top honours in the Championship. Y Raghavendra of Andhra Pradesh,  K Humeshowri of Manipur, P Suresh of RSPB and Anjali of Uttar Pradesh were adjudged Strong Man and Strong Women in their respective categories. Minister for Youth and Sports Affairs of Karnataka Abhayachandra Jain visited the championship venue at Townhall here and handed over a cheque of Rs 5 lakh to the organising secretary of the event, Satish Kudroli as a token of the state’s participation in the event.

Result (unequipped)
Strong man: Winner-Y Raghavendra (AP), Runner up-Pradeep Kumar Patra (Odisha).
Strong women:  Winner- K Humeshowri (Manipur), Runner up-D Kusuma (AP).
Team Championship (Men): Winner-Karnataka, Runner up-Odisha.
Team Championship (Women): Winner-Andhra Pradesh, Runner up-Maharashtra.
Overall Championship: Winner-Karnataka, Runner up-Andhra Pradesh.

Result (equipped)
Strong man: Winner- P Suresh (RSPB), Runner up-Kunal Savardekar (Maharashtra).
Strong women: Winner- Anjali (UP), Runner up-Vandana Dubey (RSPB).
Team Championship (Men):Winner-RSPB,  Runner up-Kerala.
Team Championship (Women): Winner-RSPB,  Runner up-Maharashtra.
Overall Championship: Winner-RSPB,  Runner up-Kerala.
Interstate Team Championship (Men): Winner-Kerala,Runner up-TN.
Interstate Team Championship (Women): Winner-Maharashtra,Runner up-Chhattisgarh.
Interstate Overall Team Championship (Women): Winner-Kerala,Runner up-Maharashtra.