Northeast Frontier Railway Sports Association registers Win

GUWAHATI: Guwahati and Northeast Frontier Railway Sports Association (NFRSA) won their respective matches of the 10th Veteran Inter District and Inter Institutional T20 Cricket Tournament for the Madhurjya Prasad Barooah and Badan Chandra Saikia Memorial Trophy at the DN Singha Stadium in Goalpara today. In the first match of the day, Guwahati outplayed Jorhat by nine wickets. Electing to bat, Jorhat batsmen scored 139 for the loss of five wickets in their stipulated 20 overs. In reply, Guwahati eased past the target losing one wicket in 12.1 overs.

In the other match of the day, NFRSA got the better of Dhubri by 69 runs. Batting first, the Railwaymen piled up 200 runs for the loss of two wickets in their stipulated overs. Chasing the target, Dhubri batsmen could only manage 131 for the loss of eight wickets in 20 overs.

Brief scores: Jorhat VCA 139/5 in 20 overs (Hemanta Hazarika 55, Abhisekh Dhelia 44; Akash Chakraborty 2/19). Guwahati VCA 140/1 in 12.1 overs (Nitin Das 57 n.o., Situ Das 46 n.o.; Abdul Wahid 1/12).

NFRSA 200/2 in 20 overs ( Zakaria Zuffri 109 n.o., RB Indrajeet 60 n.o.; Nakibul Islam 1/35, Manik Mahanta 1/37). Jorhat VCA 131/8 in 20 overs (Nekibul Islam 31, Raju Islam 26; Deep Bora 3/23).