Now withdraw money from ATMs within Railway Station precincts

100 ATMs will be put up at several stations across the CR as part of its commercial publicity schemes

Mumbai: Now, you need not take a detour to your bank to withdraw money. You can do so on your way to office at the railway station itself. The Central Railway will be putting up ATMs on several suburban platforms, including far-off stations such as Badlapur and Asangaon.

There will be a total of 100 ATMs put up at several stations across the CR as part of its commercial publicity schemes. These ATMs will be put up at 83 locations on 32 suburban platforms.

With the space allotted to these 100 ATMs to be put up on the platforms, the Railways have increased the revenue by Rs 10 crore.

An official from CR said, “The recent developments in these areas have attracted the corporates. There have been spots on the station that remained unsold for years, but this year there was over subscription. These ATMs are a facility for the commuters and also regenerate revenue which proves to be beneficial to all.”

In order to increase the revenue, the advertisers were given the choice of suggesting a location. Chief PRO, Atul Rane, said, “These advertisers who chose the locations were given priority and allotted the tender on a first-come-first-serve basis.”

Amita Samanth, a resident of Vikhroli, said, “I have to walk up to LBS Marg if there is a need for cash. I have been travelling for the past 14 years, but there were none, only one had been put up at Vikhroli East a year back. If one is put up at Vikhroli, it would be an advantage as I can just withdraw cash and shop on the way back home.”

Another commuter Sangeeta Shelar, a resident of Badlapur, said, “ATMs on the stations are always an advantage. The ones put up at Dadar, Borivali and Andheri are always crowded. With ATM one can withdraw cash on their way and will not have to travel with it. There have been several instances of robbery and these ATMs give one a choice.”

Platforms where ATMs will be installed

  • Ambmbavli Dombivali
  • Badlapur Ghatkopar
  • Asangaon Govandi
  • Atgaon Kalwa
  • Kalyan Karjat
  • Kasara Khadavli
  • Khardi King Circle
  • Kopar, Mankhurd
  • Masjid Matheran
  • Mumbra Nahur
  • Neral Panvel
  • Parel Thakurli
  • Thane Tilak Nagar
  • Ulhas Nagar Vasind
  • Vidhyavihar Vikhroli
  • Bhandu Bhiwandi
  • Dadar Byculla