Policy Guidelines on Energy Conversation measures at various Railway Station on IR issued: MOSR

Railway Energy ConversationNew Delhi: Ministry of Railways have already issued Policy Guidelines on the energy conservation measures on Indian Railways (IR) to save energy at various railway stations across the country.

The initiatives taken by IR include use of LED light fittings, segregation of lighting circuits at railway station platforms, provision of LED based station name boards, automation of pumps, use of 3 star labelled electrical products, replacement of High Pressure Mercury Vapour (HPMV) lamps with energy efficient lamps etc.

IR has installed about 1.5 Mega Watt Peak (MWp) solar based plants on railway stations across the country including 1 MWp at Katra Railway Station for meeting station power requirement including lighting.

In addition, a Purchase Order for installing about 3 MWp solar power plants on roof top spaces of about 200 railway stations has been issued.

Presently at 523 Railway Stations rain water harvesting system has been installed. The State wise position is as under:

Name of States No.of Stations Having Rain Water Harvesting System
Andhra Pradesh 43
Assam 4
Chhattisgarh 28
National Capital Territory of Delhi 9
Gujarat 1
Haryana 13
Himachal Pradesh 3
Jammu & Kashmir 3
Jharkhand 17
Karnataka 33
Madhya Pradesh 21
Maharashtra 43
Odisha 8
Punjab 42
Rajasthan 16
Tamil Nadu 66
Madhya Pradesh 21
Telangana 44
Uttar Pradesh 111
Uttarakhand 4
West Bengal 14
Total 523

Executive Lounges at Railway Stations

Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation (IRCTC) has been entrusted with the task of setting up Executive Lounges at 49 locations. These Executive Lounges provide value added services at a charge, offering facilities such as Wifi Internet, buffet services, wash and change, concierge services for pre-departure and post-arrival assistant to passengers. These facilities are similar to the facilities provided at the airports. The locations are New Delhi, Delhi, Nizamuddin, Ludhiana, Jalandhar, Amritsar, Jammu, Agra Cantt., Bhopal, Nagpur, Vijayawada, Chennai Central, Bangaluru City, Trivandrum Central, Madurai, Kozhikode, Ernakulam Jn., Madgaon, Bombay Central, Lokmanya Tilak Terminus, Bandra Terminus, Vadodara, Ahmedabad, Jaipur, Ajmer, Kathgodam, Bhubaneshwar, Lucknow, Lucknow Jn., Varanasi Cantt., Kalka, Hyderabad, Secunderabad, Pune, Bilaspur, Ranchi, Raipur, Dhanbad, Tatanagar, Guwahati, Visakhapatnam, Puri, Sealdah, Howrah, New Jalpaiguri, Patna, Gorakhpur, Allahabad, and Kanpur. Executive Lounge at New Delhi Railway station has started operation. IRCTC is in the process of setting up Executive Lounges at other locations.

This information was given by the Minister of State for Railways Shri Manoj Sinha in a written reply to a question in Lok Sabha today.


Comments are closed.