Railway Board disbands all ZRUCCs and DRUCCs

नई दिल्ली New Delhi:  The railway ministry has once again disbanded all railway users’ consultative committees constituted at the suburban, divisional, zonal and national level. A circular issued by the railway board to all the general managers of 17 zones, including Metro rail, Kolkata and deputy general manager, Konkan Rail, ordered the dissolution of existing committees and their replacement with new committees.

The circular has cut short the tenure of all railway users’ consultative committees formed in April 2013 whose tenure was supposed to end in March 2015. Central Railway, Western Railway and Konkan Railway have informed members of these committees about the decision.

The committees comprise experts of different fields who provide objections and suggestions to railway officials and the Railway Board to bring in passenger-friendly policies. In the past too, when then rail minister Pawan Kumar Bansal had taken over, he had disbanded all the consultative committees set up by his predecessor Mukul Roy, cutting short the period of the railway users’ committees. In its circular, the Railway Board also directed all zonal heads to formulate new committees from August 1 so that the voices of railway passengers do not go unheard. Hence, officials have started working to set up new committees at suburban, divisional, zonal and railway board levels.

Requesting anonymity, a senior WR official said, “Now we will have to set up new committees and we have swung into action to follow the board’s guidelines.” He also said that in recent years, only one committee has been able to stay full term while all others were dismantled whenever a new rail minister took charge.