Railway Minister announces “South East Coast Railway (SECoR)” a new Zone of Indian Railways

NEW DELHI/VISAKHAPATNAM: As per Item-8 of Schedule-13 (Infrastructure) of the Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act, 2014, Indian Railways was required to examine establishing a new Railway Zone in the successor State of Andhra Pradesh.

The matter has been examined in detail by Ministry of Railways in consultation with stake holders and it has been decided to go ahead with creation of a new Railway Zone with Headquarter at Visakhapatnam.

The new zone named “South East Coast Railway (SECoR)”, will comprise of existing Guntakal, Guntur and Vijayawada Railway Divisions.

Is it Right Time for IR to fulfill Demands of New Rail Zones/Divisions?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

Waltair Division (Visakhapatnam) shall be split into two parts – one part of Waltair Division will be incorporated in the new zone i.e. in South East Coast Railway and will be merged with the neighbouring Vijaywada Division.

Remaining portion of Waltair Division shall be converted into a new division with headquarter at Rayagada under East Coast Railway (ECoR).

In lieu of the creation of a new SECoR Railway Zone, South Central Railway will be comprising of Hyderabad, Secunderabad and Nanded Divisions.

Delinking KK and KR lines from new rail zone opposed. ‘Bifurcation of Waltair Division renders the zone unviable’

The Uttarandhra Rakshana Vedika (URV) on Wednesday opposed the de-linking of the Kothavalasa-Kirandul (KK) and Koraput-Rayagada (KR) railway lines from the new South Coast zone announced with Visakhapatnam as its headquarters.

Stating that the BJP should fulfil the promise made during the 2014 elections, URV president S.S. Shiva Sankar stated in an open letter to Prime Minister Narendra Modi that the zone was a long-time demand of the local people. The zone was guaranteed under Section 93 of the A.P. Reorganisation Act, 2014, he added. “Railway zone has been a long-pending demand of the people from the Visakhapatnam region. Without the KK and KR lines, it will not be viable,” he said. No division was ever bifurcated at the time of carving new zones.

AP loses Rs 7000 Crore with formation of new railway zone: TDP MP Ram Mohan Naidu

After five long years of fighting against the central government, now at the time of elections BJP has declared new railway zone at Visakhapatnam, said Srikakulam TDP MP Ram Mohan Naidu.

The railway zone looks like an entry ticket for PM Narendra Modi into Andhra Pradesh. MP said, regarding the Vizag railway zone, he has raised the question many times in the Parliament.

Though its the happy time that we have finally got the railway zone to the state, but there are some issues on which the central government should give clarity, he said.

Ram Mohan Naidu seriously condemns for removing the Waltair Division name completely. The decision which Modi government has taken now is only a political decision.

In 2014, when they have demanded the railway zone, why the center has not given, he questioned. As TDP fought strongly against Modi, that’s why they have given the new railway zone.

MP Naidu has demanded the BJP government to fulfill all the promises made in the state bifurcation act.