Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu to award Gold Medals to VTU Rank Holders

Suresh Prabhu, Hon'ble Minister for Railways
Suresh Prabhu, Hon’ble Minister for Railways

Belgaum (BGM): Visvesvaraya Technological University’s (VTU) 14th convocation is scheduled on 9th May at Jnana-Sangama campus of the varsity in Belagavi. Union Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu will be the Chief Guest of the programme.

Railway Minister will confer medals to the 1st rank holder students in the presence of Governor Vajubhai Vala and Higher Education and Tourism Minister R V Deshpande.

Addressing the media persons, Vice-Chancellor Shri H Maheshappa said VTU will be awarding BE degrees to 50,528 students, besides B Arch degree to 138 students, MBA to 5,284, MCA to 3,401, M Tech to 6,650 and M Arch degree to 14 students. This apart, 109 students will receive PhD and 20 students will receive M Sc (Engg) degree. Varsity has achieved 79.75% passing result in BE/B Tech.

Because of government direction, this year, varsity is not awarding honorary doctor of science (DSc) degrees to the prominent personalities. However, it has recommended 18 names to the committee formed under K Chidananda Gowda, former Vice-Chancellor of Kuvempu University. Committee finalize three names and send them to the Raj Bhavan, he said.

Golden Boys:

Ahad Tarade of Gogte Technological University (GIT-Belagavi) has won highest 13 gold medals, for securing 1st rank with highest marks and highest aggregate marks in all eight semesters of BE Civil Engineering. Gold medals comprise 12 endowments and 1 VTU medal. According to Vice-Chancellor, this is the highest medals won by any students in the history of VTU.

Abhilash A S of Bangalore Institute of Technology has won seven gold medals for having secured 1st rank with highest marks in BE Electrical and Electronics Engineering.

Three students have won each five gold medals they are – K R Satyajit of RNS Institute of Technology, Bengaluru for securing highest marks in BE Electronics and Communication Engineering, Akash Kumar R of Bangalore Institute of Technology for securing highest marks in BE Computer Science and Engineering and Vidyasagar R of Reva Institute of Technology and Management, Bengaluru for securing top rank in BE Mechanical Engineering.

List of B E, B Tech Rank Holders:

Aeronautical Engineering:- Karthik CH of MVJ Bengaluru (90.58%), Automobile Engineering – Anoop Desai of DSCE Bangalore (86.87%), Bio-medical Engineering – Prajna Ramesh Desai of KLECET Belagavi (84%), Biotechnology – Malavika A of New Horizon Bangalore (89.94%), Chemical Engineering – Dwani V Gowda of DSCE Bangalore (87.86%), Computer Science and Engineering – Akash Kumar R of BIT Bangalore (86.43%), Construction Technology and Management – Saurav Singh of DSCE Bangalore (90.52%), Civil Engineering – Ahad Tarade of GIT Belagavi (93.28%), Electronics and Communication Engineering – K R Satyajit of RNS Inst Bangalore (87.59%), Electrical and Electronics Engineering – Abhilash A S of BIT Bangalore (89.25%), Environmental Engineering – Poojashri R Naik of VVCE Mysuru (87.39%).

Industrial Engineering and Management:-  Vidya K of DSCE Bangalore (88.43%), Industrial and Production Engineering – Abhijit Shetra of BIET Davanagere (81.71%), Information Science and Engineering – Harshita M of Acharya Inst Bangalore and Abhijit Udupa of Reva Inst Bangalore (84.17%), Instrumentation Technology – Pratima TJ of BIT Bangalore (88.38%), Mechanical Engineering – Vidyasagar R of Reva Inst. Bangalore (88.81%), Medical Electronics – Prithvi PM of DSCE Bangalore (85.16%), Mining Engineering – Karthika R of Dr TTIT KGF (79.77%), Mechatronics Engineering – Sourav Mohanty of Acharya Inst Bangalore (90.61%), Telecommunication Engineering – Kavi Priya R of BIT Bangalore (84.49%), Tool Engineering – K Deepak of GT & TC Bangalore (82.32%) and Textile Technology – Tulasi Bai BR of Govt SKSJT Bangalore (88.18%).

Bachelor of Architecture:- Architecture – Sushma of DSCE Bangalore (79.23%). M Arch: Urban Design – Prathima N of RVCE Bangalore (72.73%). Master of Business Administration: Keerthana PK of RNS Inst Bangalore (79.64). Master of Computer Applications:- Nisha G of Acharya Inst Bangalore (88.13%).

Colleges bagged highest ranks are as following:

Dayanand Sagar College of Engineering (DSCE) bagged 58 ranks including 12 first ranks, while Bangalore Institute of Technology of Bengaluru stood runner-up with 22 ranks with 5 first ranks. PES Institute of Technology of Bengaluru stood third place with 20 ranks including 4 first ranks. Other institutes bagged maximum ranks are – Department of PG Studies (VTU)-19, Acharya Institute of Technology, Bengaluru – 17 and RV College of Engineering, Bengaluru – 17.