Railways aims to complete 100% electrification by 2023

Indian Railways also cuts energy bill by 80% in 11 trains. Thanks to new technology.

HYDERABAD/NEW DELHI: The Indian Railways has set itself a target of 100% electrification by 2023 with 60% of railway line already electrified. While LED lighting is 100 per cent, solar panels have been provided at majority of railway stations and service buildings to draw renewable energy, said Railway Board Additional Member Manju Gupta on Wednesday.

Addressing the ‘National Green Rail Seminar’, a three-day professional training programme for railway officers from November 13 to November 15 here, she said 800 railway stations all over the nation had been provided with airport standard lighting.

SCR’s Additional General Manager B.B. Singh said several steps were being taken towards improvement of greenery, rejuvenation of old wells, water bodies etc. Indian railways stood as one of the greatest contributors of environment protection by meeting 10% of its energy requirements through renewable sources of energy.

About one crore saplings were being planted every year to improve the green cover and so far around 15,000 sq.km of land had been provided with green cover, he added. Top railway officials were present at the meet.

At a separate meeting in Nanded, SCR GM Gajanan Mallya said gauge conversion work on Akola-Akot section and electrification work on Parbhani-Mudkhed, Adilabad-Parbhani and Akola-Purna section were in progress.

The SCR had commissioned doubling work for a distance of 50 km on the Parbhani-Mudkhed section and the remaining 30 km of doubling work would be completed by February, 2020, he told a meeting of MPs of the Nanded division.

The MPs, who participated in the meeting, were Syed Imtiaz Jaleel, Nandkumar Singh Chauhan, Sanjay Jadhav, Prataprao Govindrao Patil Chikhalikar and Hemant Patil.

Indian Railways’ South Central Railway (SCR) zone in its effort to cut down on its energy bills as well as strengthening environment conservation has recently introduced the Head on Generation (HOG) technology in eleven trains.

The HOG technology has been recently introduced in trains fitted with LHB coaches and hauled by electric traction. This technology caters to the power needs of the coaches such as coach lighting, air conditioning, etc by substituting the earlier technology of having two power cars in the trains known as End on Generators (EOG).

The South Central Railway zone is expected to save around 29.3 crores per annum with the introduction of HOG technology.

In a statement issued by SCR, the fuel consumtion for these 11 trains per annum annum was around 49.7 lakh litres incurring a cost of more than 35 crores. After the introduction of HOG technology the electrical energy consumption cost for these trains will be 5.7 crore per annum.

Earlier , the Northern Railway zone of Indian Railways also converted 14 pairs of trains under the ‘Head On Generation’ (HOG) system.

How HOG technology works

The power supply tapped from power lines through pantograph to the train engine is used to run the engine and haul the coaches.

Now in this new system power supply tapped from overhead to the train engine will be distributed to the trailing coaches for power needs.

The HOG system does not require any diesel oil consumption and as such will reduce air pollution and also noise pollution. In addition, it also provides uninterrupted illumination in the coaches.

In the first phase, all but two trains (totalling 10 trains) having total LHB coaches and running end-to-end with electric traction facility have been converted to HOG technology. In addition, one more train with LHB coaches (i.e., Rayalaseema Express) running partly in diesel section has also been converted into HOG within the electrified section.

List of trains coverted to HOG system in SCR zone:

As such, the 11 trains running with HOG technology and LHB on SCR include:

  • Charminar Express (12759/12760),
  • Vikrama Simhapuri Amaravati Express (12744/12743),
  • Telangana Express (12723/12724),
  • Tirupati – JammuTawi Humsafar Express (22705/22706),
  • Double Decker Express (22708/22707),
  • Narayanadri Express (12733/12734),
  • Secunderabad – Nagpur Express (12771/12772),
  • Secunderabad – Sirpur Khagaznagar Express(12757/12758),
  • Secunderabad – Guntur (12705/12706),
  • Lingampalli – Vijayawada Intercity Express (12795/12796)
  • Rayalaseema Express (12793/12794).