Railways approve two more MEMU Passenger Train Services within Bengaluru by March 2018

BENGALURU: An agreement was signed between Ministry of Railways and Government of Karnataka on 16th January, 2017 for development of a Suburban Rail System in Bengaluru. It has now been decided by Ministry of Railways that the following works will be under taken in this regard.

  1. 15 pairs of short distance passenger trains that are presently running will be converted with 12 Car MEMU (Mainline Electric Multiple Unit) extended rakes. Estimated cost of this conversion is Rs. 327.79 Crores
  2. Enhancement of maintenance facilities for MEMU services at Banasawadi shed at cost of Rs. 29.45 Crores.

Above two projects will be taken up on 80:20 cost sharing basis between Government of Karnataka and Ministry of Railways and these projects will be implemented by Railways.

These 15 pairs of trains are operating between KSR Bengaluru – Bangarapet/Marikuppam, Bengaluru – Jolarpettai, Bengaluru Cantt. – Bangarapet, Bengaluru – Mysuru and Bengaluru – Hindupur.

The MEMU electric traction increases the passenger carrying capacity, results in better utilisation of line capacity, fuel efficiency with enhanced performance. 15 short distance passenger trains are equivalent to 9 rakes. Out of the 15 approved, Two MEMU rakes shall be provided during the current financial year and remaining 7 MEMU rakes shall be provided in 2018-19 from manufacturing units of Indian Railways.

The project of enhancement of maintenance facilities for MEMU services at Banasawadi shall be taken up after approval of the work in supplementary budget, 2017-18 of Central Government.

In the last three years, many inputs have been given by Railways to cater for the needs of passengers for travelling around Bengaluru. 8 pairs of new services have been introduced and following services have been extended.

New Trains:

Train No. From -To Date of Introduction
56925/ 56926 KSR Bengaluru-Tumakuru-KSR Bengaluru Daily Passenger 01.11.2014
76521/ 76522 Yesvantpur–Nelamangala–Yesvantpur DEMU 01.11.2014
76523/ 76524 Yesvantpur–Hosur–Yesvantpur DEMU 01.11.2014
66535/ 66536 KSR Bengaluru–Ramanagram–KSR Bengaluru MEMU 16.01.2017
66537/ 66538 KSR Bengaluru–Ramanagram–KSR Bengaluru MEMU 16.01.2017
66539/ 66540 KSR Bengaluru–Ramanagram–KSR Bengaluru MEMU 16.01.2017
66542/ 66541 KSR Bengaluru–Whitefield–KSR Bengaluru MEMU 16.01.2017
66544/ 66543 KSR Bengaluru–Kuppam–KSR Bengaluru MEMU 16.01.2017

Extension of Trains:

Train No. From -To Extended upto
66533 Marikuppam-Krishnarajapuram Baiyyappanahalli
66534 Krishnarajapuram-Kuppam Baiyyappanahalli
66514/66515 Marikuppam-Bangarapet Baiyyappanahalli
76525/76526 KSR Bengaluru-Kolar