Railways bags Highest ever 22 National Energy Conservation Awards for the Year 2013

NEW DELHI: The President of India Shri Pranab Mukherjee gave away National Energy Conservation Awards-2013 at a function in New Delhi today. Indian Railways bagged 22 National Energy Conservation awards out of total awards of 112 during 2013 from 829 applicants which is the highest by any organisation. Ministry of Power has instituted “National Energy Conservation Award” which is given on “National Energy Conservation Day” on 14th December every year. The respective General Mangers of different Railway organisations received the awards along with other recipients. Chairman, Railway Board, Shri Arunendra Kumar and Member Electrical, Railway Board Shri Kul Bhushan were also present on the occasion.

Awards are given to 54 category (like different industries-cement/steel sugar etc, power plant, Railways, Railway Stations, Railway Workshops, hospitals, office buildings, other general categories) mainly on the basis of improvement in specific energy & Energy Conservation initiatives. Achieving such a stupendous feet at national level by Indian Railways has been possible under the guidance and directions of Shri Kul Bhushan, Member Electrical, Railway Board, who has identified energy conservation efforts as one of the key focused area and was instrumental in enforcing such measures through slew of policy directions from the Apex level.

Awards are decided by “Award Evaluation Committee” under Bureau of Energy Efficiency (BEE)/Ministry of Power, based on approved evaluation criteria.

Indian Railways won 11 Awards in the year 2012 and 6 Awards in the year 2011.