Rs.1200 Crore for Nhava-Sewri Trans-harbour Link

MUMBAI: Mumbai metropolitan region development authority (MMRDA) has allocated Rs 1,000 crore each for the Dahisar to DN Nagar Metro-2A corridor (18.5-km, 17 stations, Rs 6,410 crore) and Andheri (East) to Dahisar (East) Metro-7 corridor (16.5-km, 14 stations, Rs 6,208 crore).

The Colaba-Bandra-SEEPZ Metro-3 corridor has received Rs 800 crore boost and DN Nagar to Mandale Metro-2B (23.5-km, 22 stations, Rs 10,986 crore) and Wadala-Ghatkopar-Thane-Kasarvadavli Metro-4 corridors (32-km, 32 stations, Rs 14,549 crore) have received Rs 200 crore each.

The recently approved Thane-Bhiwandi-Kalyan Metro-5 (24-km, 17 stations, Rs 8,416 crore) and Swami Samarth Nagar-JVLR-SEEPZ-Vikhroli Metro-6 corridors (14.5-km, 13 stations, Rs 6,672 crore) have been given a token grant of Rs 5 crore each.

Rs 700 crore for MMR development

The Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA) has further allocated Rs 700-crore for the development of Mumbai Metropolitan Region and the road network therein. The development of flyovers, creek bridges and road network will certainly provide excellent connectivity with the city of Mumbai as also other areas.

“I want to ensure that any one should be able to reach anywhere in one hour and the commute must be easy, comfortable and congestion-free”, said Devendra Fadnavis. “The Metro corridors are the future of this city. The Mumbaikars should feel proud to use public transport rather than private vehicles. Use of public transport saves time, fuel and also improves environment”, said the Chief Minister.