SER holds 97th Zonal Railway User’s Consultative Committee Meeting

Kolkata: The 97th Zonal Railway Users’ Consultative Committee (ZRUCC) Meeting was held under chairmanship of Shri G.C.Agarwal, General Manager, South Eastern Railway at SER Headquarters, Garden Reach today (01.08.2013). The ZRUCC Meeting was attended by eight members representing various fields and diverse interests including Chamber of Commerce & Industries, Passengers’ Association etc. from three States viz. West Bengal, Jharkhand and Odisha which are under SER’s jurisdiction. ADG Rly. , West Bengal, SRP, Jamshedpur and other Senior Police Personnel from Rourkela, Ranchi, etc. were also present.

Initially, the Members were apprised of the performance of South Eastern Railway and the developmental works under progress through a presentation.

Thereafter, all the Members put forward their views and suggestions one after the other. They appreciated the efforts of S.E.Railway to increase the passenger amenities and issues related to train running. The deliberations of various suggestions brought forth by the members towards service improvements were also discussed in a cordial manner. The suggestions and demands of the members included running of more trains, stoppages of trains, construction of road over bridges, better parking facilities of stations etc.

General Manager of South Eastern Railway, Shri G.C. Agarwal, in his address said that serious note will be taken on the suggestions and demands made by the Members. He emphasized that South Eastern Railway would initiate actions to address the demands within its competence..

The Members who attended the meeting and exchanged their views were Shri Manoj Kumar Choudhary ( Bokaro Chamber of Commerce & Industries), Shri Om Prakash Mishra (GM, Logistics, TataSteel), Shri Shyam Sundar Sharma (Odisha Cement Ltd., Rajgangpur),Shri Govind Madhav Sharan (Chotonagpur Passenger Association), Shri Ashis Kumar Ray (Bankura Damodar River Railway Paribahan Welfare Samity), Md. Iqbal Saba, Shri Mukesh Kumar and Shri Bijay Kumar Sultania (all nominees of Hon’ble Members of Parliament.)

Shri Debashis Chandra, Dy. General Manager(G) conveyed vote of thanks.