Shankar Aggarwal to head Nagpur Metro Rail project

Shankar Aggarwal, newly elected Chief of Nagpur Metro Rail Corporation and, Principal Secretary, Ministry of Urban Development
Shankar Aggarwal, newly elected Chairman of Nagpur Metro Rail Corporation Limited (a Special Purpose Vehicle to be formed shortly) and Principal Secretary, Ministry of Urban Development, Govt.of India, New Delhi

नागपुर Nagpur (NGP): The proposed Nagpur metro railway project seems to be chugging along nicely with names of all ten members of the Board of Directors now finalized. The Chairman of special purpose vehicle company to be named as Nagpur Metro Railway Corporation Ltd will be Shankar Aggarwal who is currently the Secretary in the Union Ministry of Urban Development (MoUD)

The company is likely to be formed by the month end with formalities like registration now underway, said sources.

Besides Aggarwal as Chairman, the other ex-Officio Directors will be: Mukund Kumar Sinha (Officer on Special Duty in MoUD), Jhanja Tripathy (Joint Secretary Finance, MoUD), Ved Mani Tiwari (Director Kochi Metro), Shailendra Singh (Indian Railways).

As decided earlier, Brijesh Dixit will be the Managing Director while state officials Sudhirkumar Shrivastava (Additional Secretary Finance), Nitin Kareer (Principal Secy, UDI), Municipal Commissioner Shravan Hardikar, and NIT chairman Shyam Wardhane will also serve as ex-Officio Directors.

The ground breaking of the project was done in a hurry on August 21 just to beat the state election code of conduct and Prime Minister Narendra Modi came for the event. That time its revised estimate was also not obtained. All it had was an in-principle approval. As per revised estimates, the project will cost upward of Rs.10,500 crore. NIT is the nodal agency. The office of the company is to be opened in a government bungalow in Civil Lines while its own building gets ready.